The Cross of Valour is the highest decoration for bravery in Australia.

Australian bravery decorations recognise acts of bravery by members of the community. The Australian bravery decorations committee has established that bravery or courage differs from fortitude in a crisis situation.

Bravery is a deliberate choice to go from a place of safety to danger or remain in a perilous position to provide help. The Cross of Valour is awarded for acts of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.

Australian bravery decorations date from the establishment of the Australian honours system in February 1975. Since that time, the Cross of Valour has been awarded on just five occasions.

Cross of Valour recipients from L – R: Tim Britten, Allan Sparkes, Richard Joyes, Darrell Tree, Victor Boscoe.

Vice Patronage Of The Australian Bravery Association

Late in 2013 the five Cross of Valour recipients were offered, and accepted, joint Vice Patronage of the Australian Bravery Association by the executive and joined Keith Payne VC OAM in that role.

All five CV recipients were extremely honoured to be offered and awarded the position and look forward to working in that role to the continued success of the ABA.

All CV recipients are looking forward to the possibility of attending the ABA's annual general meeting in Canberra in February, 2014 where they will also be attending the functions over the weekend for the first time in their new role as Vice Patrons.

We wish them the best of luck along with the future good fortunes of the Australian Bravery Association.

Cross of Valour Association News
Order of Australia for our Secretary.
In 2013 our secretary, John Meyers, added the post nominal OAM to his name in a very well deserved ceremony at Government House, Queensland.

All members of the Cross of Valour Association are very proud of John on this momentous achievement.


Australian Bravery Association
Australian Bravery Association

It's an Honour